NYC Makeup Haul!

So this past weekend my sister and I drove up to NYC to surprise my dad for his 60th Birthday party! We drove through the night on Thursday and had a good part of the afternoon to spend time in the city while we waited for him to get home. Naturally, I go into the city and ‘accidentally’ run into the Sephora on Times Square. And naturally, I buy things I do not need. I thought it might be fun to share with you guys some of the goodies that I purchased in NYC, as well as some goodies I purchased here in ATL before I left! I also included the links where you can find these items if you would like to purchase them online!!

**I AM NOT SHOWING THIS TO BRAG! I am just showing you guys things I am loving and would recommend**

Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Brush:s1654128-main-hero-300 OMG I LOVE IT! Before I purchased this, I was using my #Nars Ita Brush and it was easy to set my contour, but it was a little difficult to blend it in. This brush does it all. The contour side of the brush is smaller so it is great way of setting out where exactly you want to contour first. I usually use it to lightly carve out my cheekbones before going in with a smaller brush, if you are wanting a more defined look. It is also great for blending out your bronzer and for your temples of your face! I am not too crazy about the tapered brush as a highlighting brush, but it is A M A Z I N G for setting your under-eye concealer!

Worth the Splurge: YES!

Kat Von D Lock It Tattoo Foundation:

s1398858-main-hero-300

Once again, another A M A Z I N G product by Kat! This foundation is a full coverage foundation, but what is nice about it is the consistency isn’t thick. It is an oil free foundation, so it is great for people with combination and oily skin. It went on super smooth, and works great with a brush or a beauty blender! I was worried about having cake-face after I put it on and set it with powder, and my makeup looked really natural which was great! I only had to touch it up once during the day, around 3:00, with some translucent powder, and i was good to go! I am in the color Light 44, and I would recommend going into a store and getting matched because there were two Light shades, one with a pink undertone and one with a beige undertone and I got it wrong the first time. L O L

Worth the Splurge: YES!

Benefit Cosmetics Roller Lash Mascara:

s1728492-main-hero-300

So while I was in the checkout line at Sephora, I saw this little fella and thought I would try it! I like trying out new mascaras, and personally think the cheapest way to try them out is by purchasing a travel size! This cute bottle (it feels like a hair roller) only cost $14, the full size bottle costs $22, so it wasn’t that big of a stretch! The description off Sephora.com says it is “not only lifts and super-curls, but this instant curve-setting formula holds for 12 hours, is easy to remove, and contains provitamin B5 and serine, known for their lash-conditioning benefits”. When I first was writing this post, I had mixed feelings about the mascara and I think it was because I wasn’t using it properly. Today I paired it with the Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara and it looked amazing! It is ALL based on your preference and the kind of lashes you’re going for!

Worth the Splurge: Mixed Feelings!

Too Faced Must Love Set:

s1716448-main-hero-300

I love Too Faced products, and thought this was a great way to try out some of their top selling products! This set was $25.00 and came with a travel size: Chocolate Soleil bronzer in Medium/Deep, Shadow Insurance eye shadow primer, Hangover RX face primer, Melted Lipstick in the color Melted Fig, and Better Than Sex mascara. I mainly purchased this set because I wanted to test out the Hangover RX primer, and this was the only way I could get the travel size lol. I LOVE my mascara, its how I am able to get my spidery-clumpy lashes, and also it is long wearing which is nice. The bronzer is AMAZING for contouring because it is a matte shade which gives you a more natural look. I love the melted lipsticks because they go on like gloss, but dry matte and are extremely long wearing. I also love the variety of shades they come in. I like the shadow insurance, it’s nice if you want a primer. I mainly use my concealer and set it with a matte eye shadow instead!

Worth the Splurge: YES!

Too Faced Soul Mates Blush Bronzer Duo

web_soulmates_composite_ross_rachel_2

To be honest, I purchased this for novelty’s sake. Yes, $36 is a lot for a pretty package but I have my reason! I came across this back in early spring, and didn’t know it was a limited edition product. I left it at Sephora and said I’ll come back for it later, well I did and it wasn’t there lol #ShouldHaveBoughtItAnyway! So when I found this at Macy’s a week ago, I H A D to have it! This is the Too Faced Bronzer Blush Duo in Ross and Rachel. To be honest, there is nothing special about this product. I am not a big fan of shimmer bronzers, and I like my bronzer and blush duo’s to be separate. This duo does have a shimmer to it, as well as the blush being so small, it is difficult to get product out of it. I purchased this at Macy’s, but I also purchased the Too Faced Soul Mates Carrie and Big compact off of the Too Faced Website.

Worth The Splurge: Only If You Want The Novelty

KIKO Precision Lip Pencil:

KM00203001principale_900Wx900H.

I’m on this new lipstick kick where I really don’t feel fully put together until I have something on my lips. I saw this brand in the Queens Mall and thought I would try it out. I got the colors 306 and 316, mainly because I thought these would be great fall transition colors! The pigmentation was great when I tested it out on my hand, but I have yet to wear it out.

Worth the Splurge: $6.00? HECK YEAH!

L’Oreal True Match LUMI Liquid Glow Illuminator

shopping

I bought this on a whim while I was at ULTA prior to leaving for NYC and wanted to try it out. I am a big fan of having a dewy summer glow all year round, and I have heard great things on YouTube. I tried it out, as a mix in with my foundation, and was under-impressed. I didn’t see much change in the way my face looked, and I also noticed my foundation was a little less full coverage. I think I am going to mix it with a BB Cream and see what happens. I’ll keep you posted!

Worth the Splurge: Not really!

Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder

s870618-main-hero-300

WORTH EVERY PENNY! I used to use the banana shade from the  Marc Jacobs #instamarc contour palette, and I would always have creasing underneath my eyes after setting my concealer MAYBE an hour before I left the house. This is a great product for setting your makeup, under eye concealer, and its PERFECT if you want to do the ‘baking’ method. They have a travel size which retails for $22 and a full size that retails at $37, and if you want a flawless face it is definitely worth the money. It soaks up all the oils and gives you a flawless finish!

Worth the Splurge: YES!

Kiko Milano Micronized Compact Powder

KM00103001principale_900Wx900H

This was another Kiko product that I found in the Queens mall that I thought I would try. This is just a micronized face powder, which is what they describe this on their website. I purchased this as an inexpensive setting powder for my face prior to putting on my bronzer. It is great! It cost around $16.00 and definitely makes a difference when I use it to set my foundation. It is a little powdery, but I just use a big fluffy brush to set my foundation with so I don’t mind tapping off the excess.

Worth the Splurge: Yes!

4 thoughts on “NYC Makeup Haul!

  1. I haven’t gone makeup shopping in so long (trying to use up the products I already have) so it’s nice to read haul posts because I feel like it’s filling that void of wanting to buy! The Too Faced set seems like a really good deal and that and the Melted Fig shade looks so pretty for Fall. When the Too Faced Soul Mates duo came out, I was tempted to get both b/c I’m a huge fan of Ross/Rachel and Carrie/Big, but I had to resist because you’re right, it’s just a novelty! Great post! 🙂

    Like

    1. Girl I feel you on that one lol…I got the Carrie and Big on sale during Labor day, the ONLY reason why I got it! I think I need to copy you and look at hauls rather than buying lol! Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

