$20 Face Beat Challenge

So I saw this trending on YouTube forever ago, and it is called the $20 Makeup Challenge. So I thought why not do this as my first beauty post?! The challenge is to go into a drugstore, like CVS or Walgreens, with $20 and try to get as many products that you need, only using the $20 that you brought in. It is a lot easier said than done!

So last Wednesday, I went into CVS with my ExtraCare card loaded up with a $5 Beauty Bucks Coupon to make sure I could get enough products I needed for under $20. I will attach photos of the products that I purchased, as well as a photo of the recipet, for you guys so you can look for these products in store!

IMG_2264

The products I purchased were:

  1. Rimmel London 9-1 Skin Perfecting BB Creme with SPF 25 in Medium: $7.29
  2. Wet and Wild Mega Volume Mascara in Very Black: $2.99
  3. Wet and Wild Eyeshadow Trio in Sweet as C andy 381B: $2.99
  4. Wet and Wild Coverall Concealer in Fair: $1.99 (I got this for FREE)
  5. Elf Bronzer and Blush Contour: $3.00
  6. Elf High Definition Setting Powder: $6.00
    1. TOTAL: $18.31 (I had a $5.00 ExtraBucks to use)
IMG_2268
I wanted something lighter than a foundation because who wants to sweat off their makeup?  So I decided to go with a BB Creme and chose Rimmel. I matched the color in CVS, and it looked and blended great. When I got home and applied it…I was underwhelmed. It was super thick, went on poorly with a beauty blender, and smelled like sunscreen. 
IMG_2267
I needed bronzer. This was something that I H A D to have! It reminded me of a Nars Orgasm and Laguna duo sold at Sephora. The bronzer blended GREAT! It is a matte bronzer, so my face didn’t look muddy when I used it as a contour. The blush was just perfect because it had a slight sheen so it doubled for a highlight too. Definitely a winner in my book!
IMG_2266
I LOVE WET AND WILD EYE SHADOWS! They are such a great drugstore alternative for inexpensive yet very pigmented shadows! I chose this trio because I was going for a day look and didn’t want very dark colors, which you can see in the photos. I did smoke it out a little more, adding some more brown in the crease and it turned out great. This is definitely a great trio to use and can transition easily from Day to Night!
IMG_2265
Wet and Wild was having a buy 2 get 1 free sale at CVS so this was my little freebie! I need concealer because I like the highlighted look, but also because I have dark circles under my eyes (#collegestudentprobz). This was the lightest color they had in store, and I hoped it would do the job….but it didn’t. It was super hard to blend, being in a ‘lipstick’ style and it just blended in with my skin tone. This was definitely a disappointment.
IMG_2269
I was in dire need of a setting powder for my foundation and concealer and this was the least expensive option, but also the one that I didn’t have to worry about ‘color matching’. This was V E R Y powdery when you first use it, and looks like you spilled cocaine everywhere; however, it does go on nicely and prevented any creasing under my eyes. Not as good as MUFE but definitely a great drugstore option!
IMG_2270
I needed mascara and Wet and Wild was having their buy 2 get 1 free deal, and I thought I would grab this to try it. Honestly, it isn’t anything special. Personally, I like to go for Covergirl or Rimmel for AMAZING drugstore mascara. I wouldn’t re-purchase this.

IMG_2331IMG_2334

IMG_2272
MY PHOTO PROOF I ONLY SPENT $20!


   I hope you guys enjoyed this post! I had fun going out and looking for these products! The next post up on the blog is going to be a FULL Morphe Brushes Review on their 35W and 35K palettes that I have recently purchased!

4 thoughts on “$20 Face Beat Challenge

Leave a Reply

